Shropshire Council

The model scheme

The model scheme

The model scheme classifies information at a high level and broadly states the way authorities can provide information, and what they can charge for. The model specifies seven classes of information. To maximise the routine release of information the categories have been set at a high level. Most information that a public authority holds falls into the seven classes. These are the seven classes of information we must make available.

1. Who we are and what we do

Organisational information, structures, locations and contacts, constitutional and legal governance

2. What we spend and how we spend it

Financial information about projected and actual income and expenditure, procurement, contracts and financial audit. 

3. What our priorities are and how we are doing

Strategies and performance information, plans, assessments, inspections and reviews. 

4. How we make decisions

Policies, proposal and decisions, decision-making processes, internal criteria and procedures, consultations.

5. Our policies and procedures

Current written protocols, policies and procedures for delivering our services and responsibilities. 

6. Lists and registers

Information held in registers required by law and other lists and registers relating to the functions of the authority.

7. The services we offer

Advice and guidance, booklets and leaflets, transactions and media releases.  A description of the services offered.