Shropshire Council website

This is the website of Shropshire Council

Contact information



0345 678 9000

Postal Address

Shropshire Council
Abbey Foregate

Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet is the part of the Council which is responsible for most day-to-day decisions.

The Cabinet meets on dates agreed by the Leader and meetings are open to the public. You can ask questions provided you let us know first. Please see the "Have Your Say Page" for more details.

Cabinet's primary roles are to lead in the preparation of the Council's policies and budget, to lead the community planning process and to ensure the attainment of best value. A full list of its functions and delegations to individual Members of the Executive can be found in the Council's Constitution.

The Cabinet and individual Members have to make decisions which are in line with the Council's overall policies and budget. If they wish to make a decision which is outside the budget or policy framework, this must be referred to the Council to decide. Decisions made by the Cabinet, including individual Members, are subject to 'call-in'.

This is where members who are not part of the Cabinet are given the opportunity to challenge a decision made by the Executive (Cabinet) as a whole or by Executive Members. If this happens, the Cabinet or individual Member may have to reconsider their decision.

The Cabinet also publishes a Forward Plan which contains: a list of key decisions that Cabinet and individual Members are likely to take in the following four months or so; the expected date of the meeting or period that the decision will be taken at/in; and the steps to be taken by anyone who wants to make representations to the Cabinet or individual Member about this matter.

The Cabinet is made up of nine members, one of whom, the Leader, is elected by Council for a 4-year term of office. The other eight members are appointed by the Leader.



Responsibilities of Cabinet Members


Portfolio Holder


Deputy Portfolio Holder


Lezley Picton

Leader, Policy and Strategy, Improvement and Communications



Gwilym Butler

Finance and Corporate Resources


Dean Carroll

Growth and Regeneration



Rob Gittins

Culture and Digital

Roy Aldcroft


Kirstie Hurst Knight

Children & Education

Nick Bardsley


Simon Jones

Adult Social Care and Public Health



Richard Marshall

Highways and Regulatory Services

Chris Schofield


Cecilia Motley

Health (Integrated Care System – ICS) and Communities

Ian Nellins

Deputy Leader, Climate Change, Environment and Transport

Roy Aldcroft







Contact information

Support officer: Amanda Holyoak. Committee Services Supervisor

Postal address:
The Shirehall
Abbey Foregate

Phone: 01743 257714



Print this page

Back to top