Shropshire Council

Meet the Historic Environment team

The Historic Environment service is based at the Shirehall in Shrewsbury. However, conservation officers and historic environment officers are split to cover four areas; north, central, south (Bridgnorth) and south (Ludlow).  

  • Historic environment manager: Dr. Andy Wigley
  • Senior conservation officer (Technical Specialist): Corey Lane
  • Historic environment technical officer: Joe Crook

North area (Wem/ Oswestry)

  • Senior conservation officer: Ruth Hitchen
  • Planning archaeological advice: Andy Wigley

Central area

  • Conservation officer: Karen Rolfe
  • Planning archaeological advice: Andy Wigley

South area (Bridgnorth)

  • Conservation officer: Ben Williscroft
  • Planning archaeological advice: Hugh Hannaford (Bridgnorth area)

South area (Ludlow)

  • Senior conservation officer: Becky Jones
  • Planning archaeological advice: Debbie Taylor (former South Shropshire Area)

Archaeology and Records Team

Historic Environment Record: Charlotte Orchard (