Shropshire Council

Conservation areas

Conservation areas have been designated due to their special architectural or historic interest, and where it's beneficial to preserve and enhance their character and appearance. There are 128 conservation areas in Shropshire, designated for their special character, eg historic and architectural character of buildings, settlement layout and open spaces.

Conservation areas are defined by section 69 of the Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas Act 1990 as:

“…areas of special architectural or historic interest the character or appearance of which is desirable to preserve or enhance.”

This is a strictly applied definition and shouldn't be confused with areas of outstanding natural beauty (AONBs) and other designated areas.

Conservation areas are designated by us, usually after public consultation, although this isn't a legal requirement.

Take a look at our 'Conservation areas - FAQs' page for more information.

Positive action in conservation areas

Where appropriate, and subject to the availability of resources, we'll participate in grant schemes.

We also have a Conservation Area Advisory Committee for Ludlow - take a look at the ‘Conservation areas in south Shropshire’ page for further information.