Shropshire Council

School admission arrangements 2020/21

  • Period: 12 December 2018 - 25 January 2019
  • Status: Closed
  • Audiences: Everyone
  • Topics: Education
  • Type: Public

Shropshire Council is conducting a consultation exercise on school admission arrangements for community and voluntary controlled schools in Shropshire for 2020/21.

The Council is simultaneously co-ordinating a consultation exercise for own admission authority schools whose governing bodies are responsible for setting their admission arrangements and who wish to make changes.  We wish to notify all parents/carers that the consultation will begin on Wednesday 12 December for a period in excess of 6 weeks up until 25 January 2019. The proposed admission arrangements are laid out in the attached documents.

The only change to Shropshire Council’s arrangements is one recommended by the DfE to introduce a high priority in their over-subscription criteria to children who have been adopted from state care outside of England.  The following own admission authority schools have also opted to follow the DfE’s advice and are consulting on this change:

Barrow 1618 Primary School

Longden CE Primary School

St Martin's School

Baschurch CE Primary School

Longlands Primary School

St. Mary's Bluecoat
CE Primary School

Bishop's Castle
Primary School

Ludlow CE School

St. Peter's CE Primary School

Bitterley CE Primary School

Ludlow Primary School

Stokesay Primary School

Burford CE Primary School

Market Drayton
Infant & Nursery School

Stottesdon CE Primary School

Church Stretton School

Market Drayton Junior School

The Community College

Claverley CE Primary School

Morville CE Primary School

The Corbet School

Clee Hill Community Academy

Mount Pleasant Primary School

The Grove School

Coleham Primary School

Oldbury Wells School

The Marches School

Condover CE Primary School

Prees CE Primary School

CE Primary & Nursery School

Crowmoor Primary School

Radbrook Primary School

Whixall CE Primary School

Grange Primary School

Shrewsbury Academy

Wilfred Owen School

Greenacres Primary School

Sir John Talbot’s

William Brookes School

Greenfields Primary School

St Edward's CE Primary School

Woodfield Infants School

Lacon Childe School

St.George’s Junior School

Woodside Primary School

Lakelands Academy

St. George's CE School, Clun

Endowed CE Primary School


Other proposed changes are as follows:

Proposed reductions
to PAN

School Type

Existing PAN

Proposed PAN

+ / -

Alveley Primary School





Bridgnorth Endowed School





Church Stretton School





Ludlow CE School






View the full details for Shropshire Council admission arrangements 2020.

Comments on any of the proposals should be sent in writing to arrive by 28 January 2019 to:

Admissions Team
Learning & Skills
Shropshire Council
Abbey Foregate
Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Or by e-mail to:

Any comments received will be considered by the appropriate admissions authority. 

Admission arrangements will then be considered for approval and determined before 1 March 2019

Data protection

Information collected in our surveys will only be used by us (Shropshire Council) to inform the immediate and future provision of our services. The information you provide will be kept confidential in accordance with our Privacy Policy. It will not be shared outside of Shropshire Council. Information collected via our online surveys (hosted on the Surveymonkey website) will be stored on SurveyMonkey’s servers in the United States of America and SurveyMonkey gives an undertaking never to disclose the survey questions or your responses to others without permission.